Completing the European Power Market

A Central East European Perspective

Bratislava, Slovakia - 23 September 2016

Register now!


Strengthening regional cooperation in all three dimensions of markets, planning and operations is indispensable towards achieving the Internal Energy Market and towards delivering the benefits of the Energy Union to European citizens. The CEE Regional Conference, the second among three ENTSO-E regional conferences in 2016, will explore the opportunities of enhanced cooperation within and across regions from the perspective of current developments in Central and Eastern Europe.

Where are we on power market integration in Europe, between Central East and Central West, 27 years after the end of the East-West divide? What are the regional infrastructure needs and how can the necessary investments be attracted? How does market, planning and operational cooperation progress, and how will the regional security coordinators further deliver results? What challenges and opportunities in the areas of TSO-DSO cooperation, smart grids and data can we expect in the future?


Time Event
08.30 - 9.00 REGISTRATION
09.00 - 10.00 The Energy Union: what does it mean in the CEE region? Juraj Nociar, Peder Andreasen, Vojtech Ferencz, Lenka Kovačovská, Jerzy Buzek (by video message)
Moderator: Konstantin Staschus
10.00 - 11.15 Panel 1: New market design: what is in for the CEE region? Zbyněk Boldiš, Christophe Gence-Creux, Maciej Olejniczak, Robert Jambrich, Dirk Biermann, Thomas Karall
Moderator: Peder Østermark Andreasen
11.15 - 11.30 COFFEE
11.30 - 12.30 Panel 2: Regional cooperation up and running Joachim Vanzetta, Miroslav Stejskal, Siem Bruijns, Thomas Karall, Annegret Groebel, Gheorghe Visan
Moderator: Sonya Twohig
12.30 - 13.30 LUNCH
13.30 - 14.30 Panel Session 3: Reinforcing sustainability and security of supply Eryk Klossowski, Sebastien Lepy, Antonella Battaglini, Attila Nyikos
Moderator: Susanne Nies
14.30 - 15.00 COFFEE
15.00 - 16.00 Panel Session 4: Active customers participating in all markets: challenges and opportunities for the CEE region Kamilla Csomai, Mark van Stiphout, Vincenc Kožar, Miroslav Mesić
Moderator: Ben Voorhorst
16.00 – 16.30 Closing Speech
Preparing for the next decade
Peder Østermark Andreasen

Relive the cee

Relive all the best moments from the CEE conference through our videos on the left. The videos include an overall conference summary alongside individual speeches.



Juraj Nociar

  • Vice-President Šefčovič @ Head of Cabinet of European Commission

Peder Østermark Andreasen

  • President - CEO of @ ENTSO-E/

Vojtech Ferencz

  • Ministry of Economy - Slovak Republic @ State Secretary

Lenka Kovačovská

  • Deputy Minister responsible for energy issues - Czech Republic @ ČEPS

Jerzy Buzek

  • Member of the European Parliament and Chair of the ITRE Committee @ European Parliament/ITRE Committee

Konstantin Staschus

Zbyněk Boldiš

  • ENTSO-E Board Member - Member of the Board of Directors - ČEPS @ ENTSO-E

Christophe Gence-Creux

  • Head of Electricity Department at ACER @ ACER

Maciej Olejniczak

  • TGE @ TGE

Robert Jambrich

  • Head of Foreign Regulatory Department - Slovenské elektrárne - EURELECTRIC Markets Committee Member @ Foreign Regulatory Department/EURELECTRIC

Dirk Biermann

  • Chief Officer Markets and System Operations at 50Hertz - Member of the supervisory boards of EEX and TSCNET - Coreso Board Member @ 50Hertz/EEX/TSCNET

Thomas Karall

  • Chief Financial Officer - Austrian Power Grid (APG) - APG Board Member - ENTSO-E Board Member @ ENTSO-E/APG

Joachim Vanzetta (tbc)

  • Chair - SOC @ ENTSO-E/Amprion

Miroslav Stejskal

  • Chair of the Board of Directors @ SEPS

Siem Bruijns

  • Managing Director @ TSCNET

Gheorghe Visan

  • Commercial Director @ Transelectrica

Annegret Groebel

  • German Regulatory Authority @ ACER/CEER

Sonya Twohig

  • System Operations Manager @ ENTSO-E

Eryk Klossowski

Ivo Nesrovnal (tbc)

  • Member of Committee of the Regions @ Mayor of Bratislava

Sébastien Lepy

  • Chair - System Development Committee - Head of Grid development studies department @ ENTSO-E/RTE

Attila Nyikos

  • Vice-President @ International Affairs of the Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory Authority

Antonella Battaglini

  • Founder and Chief Executive Officer @ Renewables Grid Initiative

Susanne Nies

Kamilla Csomai

  • Member of the ENTSO-E Board - CEO of MAVIR - Member of the Supervisory Board of JAO @ ENTSO-E/MAVIR/JAO

Miroslav Mesić

  • President of the Management Board @ HOPS

Ben Voorhorst

  • Vice-Chair of ENTSO-E - COO of TenneT - Member of the Dutch National Cyber Security Council @ ENTSO-E/TenneT/Dutch National Cyber Security Council

Mark van Stiphout

  • Deputy Head of Unit - Directorate C2 Europeen Commission @ Europeen Commission

Vincenc Kožar

  • Assistance Director of system oporation @ ELES


Find out more about our partners

This conference is taking place under the auspices of the Slovak Presidency of the Council of the EU and the Ministry of Economy of the Slovak Republic.



The event will take place at the Grand Hotel River Park, Dvorakovo Nabrezie 6, Bratislava 81102, Slovakia.

For questions about the Completing the European Power Market. A Central East European Perspective conference, presenting or sponsoring, email

Get the most powerful newsletter in Brussels